ERA Program

The U.S. Department of Treasury’s (Treasury) Emergency Rental Assistance (ERA) program makes funding available to assist households that are unable to pay rent or utilities. The funds were provided directly to states, U.S. territories and local governments. Grantees use the funds to assist eligible households through existing or newly created rental assistance programs. The Treasury advised that participants in HUD-assisted rental programs (including the Housing Choice Voucher (HCV), Public Housing, or Project-based rental Assistance programs) are eligible for the ERA program and may receive assistance for the tenant-owed portion of rent or utilities that is not subsidized. This assistance can include rent arrearages and utilities owed over the utility allowance. To learn more about how to apply for ERA please contact Fayette County Community Action at 724-437-6050, Extension 3213.